Tiny Beautiful Things

I love reading but barely get the time to read, or maybe I just don’t make enough time.

tinybeautifulSo far I have only read one book this year, but what a book that was! From the author Cheryl Strayed who wrote Wild, comes Tiny Beautiful Things. It is a collection of letters sent into an agony aunt column followed by Cheryl’s forthright and nurturing responses. Its almost like having your own mother reply to you at times, and giving you it how it is.

It’s one of those books, I wish had never left my book shelf, but I passed it to my daughter and then bought another copy for my other daughter and a copy for my friend! I’m sure it will find its way back to me one day, but I would most definitely recommending buying a copy.

suddendepartureSo I have vowed to myself that I am going to read more, two books a year doesn’t seem that great to me.  My eldest daughter (24) is also a keen reader and so I suggested to her that we start up a Mother and Daughter book club! She was thrilled with the idea, so we have chosen a book and then intend to meet up a month from now, have dinner and share a bottle of wine and discuss the book that we have chosen. If any of you fancy reading along with us and leaving your comments feel free to do so! The book in question is The Sudden Departure of the Frasers which looks an interesting read, I’m just awaiting my copy which should be with me by Wednesday. As luck would have it I’m then off to the Highlands of Scotland for a week, so will have the perfect opportunity to read it!! 🙂

I’ll be reporting more in my next post. 😉

Take care

 

Bridget

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment